Unlimited [Mystery Book] ✓ Good News, Bad News - by Maggie Groff À

By Maggie Groff | Comments: ( 970 ) | Date: ( Jan 28, 2020 )

Intrepid investigative journalist Scout Davis has given herself a holiday, but when Hermione Longfellow floats towards her in the supermarket, wanting to engage her services, she stops to listen.Most people in Byron Bay are aware of the eccentric Anemone sisters Always dressed in black, they rarely leave their home nestled in the hills but Scout is sure that the drinkinIntrepid investigative journalist Scout Davis has given herself a holiday, but when Hermione Longfellow floats towards her in the supermarket, wanting to engage her services, she stops to listen.Most people in Byron Bay are aware of the eccentric Anemone sisters Always dressed in black, they rarely leave their home nestled in the hills but Scout is sure that the drinking of chicken blood is just idle gossip When Hermione asks Scout to track down sister Nemony s AWOL husband, believed to have died at sea thirty years ago, but recently popped up again on the Great Barrier Reef, Scout, checking there is no eye of newt in Hermione s shopping trolley, jumps at the chance.Another source of intrigue falls close to home when Scout s sister Harper despairs over her husband s odd behaviour And if that weren t enough, Scout s journalist boyfriend is finally coming home from Afghanistan Trouble is, Scout thinks she may be falling in love with irresistible local cop Rafe who coincidentally is also Toby s best friendDelightfully witty and addictively fast paced, this is the second hilarious outing for unforgettable sleuth Scout Davis Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Alexander McCall Smith, this is storytelling at its laugh out loud best.


  • Title: Good News, Bad News
  • Author: Maggie Groff
  • ISBN: 9781742611938
  • Page: 249
  • Format: Paperback

About Author:

Maggie Groff

Maggie Groff is a multi award winning novelist, columnist and non fiction writer living and working in Australia She is the author of two non fiction books the best selling Mothers Behaving Badly 1999 which showcased her hilarious experiences as a mother, and Hoax Cuisine 2001 which garnered a loyal following and led to a regular column in Fairfax weekend newspapers Her first novel Mad Men, Bad Girls originally titled Mad Men, Bad Girls and the Guerilla Knitters Institute was published in 2012 and received rave reviews It was nominated for the Ned Kelly Award and went on to win both Australian Sisters in Crime 13th Davitt Awards for crime fiction Best First Fiction and Best Adult Novel Her second novel Good News, Bad News was also published to high acclaim and voted one of the top fifty books you can t put down in the 2013 Australian Get Reading Campaign Both novels have been published internationally.Maggie s latest book Not Your Average Nurse is a memoir of her richly varied career working as a nurse at some of the world s most iconic locations Publication date is May 2017 in the UK and Australia.



Comments Good News, Bad News

  • Shelleyrae at Book'd Out

    Good News, Bad News is the second entertaining book by Maggie Groff featuring investigative journalist Scout Davis. Though taking a break after her last case left her with broken ribs, Scout is intrigued when Hermoine Longfellow, one of Byron Bay's more eccentric characters, approaches her with a recent news article that includes a photo of her sister's husband, a man presumed drowned more than thirty years ago. A little digging suggests Nemony O'Leary nee Longfellow was the victim of a conman a [...]


  • Barbara

    Whilst the storylines and drama in this second 'Scout Davis' book were, for me, less complex and engaging than those in the first, and the book had a more 'chick-lit' feel (I'm not a big reader of the genre), the characters overwhelming remained enjoyable and recognisable with some lovely touches of humour. A nicely read, generally light hearted easy listen, on a couple of hot days whilst I crafted.


  • Stephanie

    I totally loved this book. I enjoyed all the chatty, detailed things in the character's life as well as the mystery being played out. I actually liked this narrator better than the one for the first book. I hope the author writes another book in this series! If not, it still had a great end.


  • Diana

    This book was so much fun. Investigative journalist Scout Davis of Byron Bay gets the scoop and solves another crime. This is the second book I have read in this series and I hope there are more. Preferred this one to the first.


  • Kerry Llewellyn

    Dubbed as "Australia's Janet Evanovich", I found Maggie Groff much more subtle and every bit as imaginative - probably more believable & less outrageous in her plotting and delivery. There was no occasion where I laughed out loud or had tears streaming down my face, but she is genuinely funny and engagingly quirky.I particularly love the familiar Aussie settings and attention to detail, and that her romantic angst isn't excruciatingly drawn-out and ridiculous as many writers are prone to thr [...]


  • KerryH

    My initial reaction to this second book has been confirmed, not as good as the first, but I finished some sewing listening to it so all good. Admittedly, I did speed it up. For me, far too many descriptions of clothes worn, meals eaten, her plait and her diabetes, and far too many sub-plots which seemed to me to be largely padding. Thrown in for good measure were a couple of adorable greyhounds, a crisis in her sister's marriage, her ex's travelling companions, another investigative journo in a [...]


  • Charmaine

    I actually listened to this book as an audio book, rather than read a hard copy.The narrator, Catherine Milte (although the download and cover of the audiobook says it's Georgie Parker who narrated, but thankfully not)… Catherine Milte was very expressive and I was completely taken with her various voices for the many characters in the story. Her narrating impressed me with her take on the different characters and especially the males and she made the story very enjoyable.The story line itself [...]


  • Lisa Hajek

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I wasn't expecting much (I was expecting an Evanovich rip-off full of Aussie stereotypes to be honest). It was a light, fun read as most 'chick lit' is but the writing was quite good quality, the 'Aussie-ness' wasn't excessive, the women characters were smart and independent, and there were lots of little references to interesting topics like yarn bombing, living with diabetes, mature age pregnancy, care for people with disabilities, rescuing retired grey [...]


  • Carolyn

    Scout Davis is an investigative journalist who gets herself into sticky situations. In this second book, she is chasing a man who supposedly died in a boating accident. On the home front she is also helping her sister find out if her husband is cheating on her and deciding how she is going to juggle the two men in her life. Well written with a good sense of fun - excellent for reading at the beach or on a long trip.


  • Jacqueline Tait

    Another one I couldn't put down, something about the way it's written, really pleasant read. Love the main character and her man! There was a fair bit of recap for anyone who hadn't read the previous novel, which I appreciate was necessary but I could have done without, other than that another satisfying read.


  • Jessie Renée

    Well paced and entertaining with interesting characters and story linesSometimes the subplots just felt like padding as they didn't seem to gel with the main story, and the descriptions of appearances or clothes were distracting at times. But overall they were likeable characters and it was fun to read.


  • Nella

    Touted as Australia's answer to Janet Evanovich but it's much better. Scout is older and not relying on her youth and skimpy clothing to find out information. I loved the GKI (Guerrilla Knitter's Institute) in the first book - not so much knitting in this one. Fast paced; multi- plotted - great Sunday read


  • Mel

    Tis didn't fit my reading challenge for the year - but I'm not going to make target anyway. But - it was light, and fun, and that is just what I needed to get me through the last couple of weeks of school!


  • Sarah Johnston

    Having enjoyed the first book by Maggie Groff I enjoying getting in to the second novel about investigative journalist, Scout Davis. I enjoyed this book as much as the first in the series - an easy going holiday read. Storyline was interesting but not too heavy for a relaxing summer holiday.


  • Fiona Lansdown

    Another fun follow up to Mad Men Bad Girls but with the same irritations - constant references to a) how wonderful Byron Bay is and b) diabetes management.


  • Amaali

    Ideal for light reading.


  • Deb Bodinnar

    I absolutely devoured this book!! Two sittings and it was gone. Hoping there's another Scout adventure around the corner. Amusing, interesting, entertaining just great!!!


  • Linda

    What can I say other than a fantastic, fun, fabulous and a must read book. Scout Davis and friends are an absolute joy and I loved every minute reading this delicious book. WONDERFUL!


  • Lizzy

    I gave it 2 stars but that doesn't mean I didn't like it. It took me a while to warm up to the main characters, but it was a light enjoyable summer read for me.


  • Diane Lithgow

    I loved this story. quite an amusing twist and very likeable characters with just enough Aussie to be not put off. so good i have ordered her previous book from the library.


  • Belinda Danini

    A entertaining read but not nearly as good as the first in this series I am looking forward to the next "Scout Davis"adventure though


  • Yvonne Boag

    A solid three and a half stars.


  • Kerrie

    Light and fun chick lit.


  • Lia

    I wish I could give half stars. Not quite a 3 but more thAN a 2. Cliched and predictable but easy to read


  • Alison O'connell

    I enjoyed good news bad news good characters and its funny not laugh out loud Jane Evanovich funny but a good read.


  • Andrea

    Absolutely loved this! Couldn't put it down but didn't want to finish it either. Hope there is more to come.


  • Rebecca

    Fun read. I enjoy these books


  • Jacki Thomas

    Yet another quirky read with lots of chuckles I would love to have a friend like Scout


  • Antoinette Buchanan

    Second in the Scout Davis investigative journalist series. Great fluff for summer. Not intended as anything but fun filler and it delivers.


  • Eilagh

    This is a fun read - easy to breeze through with some interesting characters - such as Chairman Meow and tea figures a lot!Not my usual read but nice and easy to relax with.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Name *
Email *
Website
  • Unlimited [Mystery Book] ✓ Good News, Bad News - by Maggie Groff À
    249 Maggie Groff
  • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Mystery Book] ✓ Good News, Bad News - by Maggie Groff À
    Posted by:Maggie Groff
    Published :2019-02-10T00:35:26+00:00